22nd L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards recognizes five exceptional women researchers in the life sciences

On the occasion of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO are announcing the winners of the 22nd For Women in Science Awards, which honour five exceptional women scientists from different regions of the world. This year, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards recognize the achievement of women scientists in the field of life sciences: biotechnology, ecology, epigenetics, epidemiology and infectiology.

Each of the five laureates will receive €100,000 at a Ceremony on 12th March 2020 at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris. They are recognized alongside 15 Rising Talents, young women scientists from all over the world.

The 2020 For Women in Science laureates are:

Africa and the Arab States

Professor Abla Mehio Sibai – Medicine and Health sciences, Professor of Epidemiology, Faculty of Health Sciences, American University of Beirut, Lebanon, for her pioneering research and advocacy to improve healthy ageing in low- and middle-income countries and their impact on health and social policy programmes.


Doctor Firdausi Qadri – Biological sciences, Senior Scientist, Head Mucosal Immunology and Vaccinology Unit, Infectious Diseases Division, International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease and Research, Dhaka, Bangladesh, for her outstanding work to understand and prevent infectious diseases affecting children in developing countries, and promote early diagnosis and vaccination with global health impact. Fore further details: en.unesco.org